VALAR WATCHTake action

Incidents: none found in public records read, but DOE keeps occurrence reports closed to the public department-wide, 'for security purposes'

recordconfirmed
2026-09 · safe-033 · U.S. Department of Energy, Valar Atomics

Valar's NSDA commits Ward 250 to DOE's occurrence reporting order (NE O 232.1), accident investigations (NE O 225.1), ES&H reporting, independent oversight, and DOE's employee concerns and differing professional opinion programs (which DOE-STD-1271 says allow no alternative). DOE's Occurrence Reporting and Processing System page says that, 'for security purposes', access to occurrence reports is restricted to approved DOE and DOE contractor personnel, a restriction covering every report in the system, not one set for Ward 250; that page describes the department-wide order (DOE O 232.2A), while the NSDA commits to the Office of Nuclear Energy's own order, and whether Ward 250's reports go into the same system is not stated in any record read. No public report of an incident, occurrence, violation, enforcement action or worker injury at Ward 250, NOVA or the fuel line was found in DOE, state or news sources read as of late September 2026. OSHA's inspection database was not searched. Absence of a public record is not evidence that nothing happened; DOE's occurrence reports for Ward 250 can be requested under FOIA. Valar's quality program (p.20), for reporting confirmed suspect or counterfeit items, cites a different occurrence-reporting order, NE O 232.2. The NE orders were not found in public records, so which is current could not be checked.

In plain termsIf something goes wrong at a DOE-authorized reactor, the operator must report it to DOE in a formal 'occurrence report'. DOE's occurrence database is open only to approved DOE and contractor staff, for every facility in it (DOE cites security), and it is not stated whether Ward 250's reports go there. We found no public report of any incident at Ward 250, but because the database is closed, that tells us little. A FOIA request is the way to find out.
verified 2026-10-02: Re-read NSDA p. 45-46, the ORPS page and DOE-STD-1271 Attachment 1 in late September 2026. Holds. Fixed: the ORPS page covers DOE O 232.2A; the NSDA's NE O 232.1 reports are not shown to go into ORPS, so the plain text no longer asserts it. No public incident report was found. Corrected in late September 2026: added that the quality program cites NE O 232.2.

In tabs: Safety Related Issues, Operations, Connections to Government