People
Founders, executives, board, advisors, lobbyists and the officials who deal with the company, by professional role and public acts.
Valar's April 2025 lawsuit post, still online in late September 2026, says its analysis indicates that holding spent fuel from its 100 kWt 'Ward One' test reactor (planned life under a month) for five minutes gives radiation exposure equal to a CAT scan. Valar's Ward 250 safety paper, the NSDA, credits reactor shielding that 'cannot be inadvertently defeated', analyzes fuel-handling accidents, and plans defueling into storage; DOE's categorical exclusion has the spent core leave in dry storage casks. No Valar correction or published calculation was found on Valar's website as of late September 2026. For scale: a CT scan is about 1 to 10 millisieverts (FDA), so five minutes would need 12 to 120 millisieverts an hour; the post gives no amount of fuel, cooling time, distance or shielding.
- Valar Atomics is Suing the NRC (The Nuclear Necessity and our decision to sue the NRC) (Valar Atomics (Isaiah Taylor), 2025-04-07) primary company “gives the equivalent radiation exposure to receiving a CAT scan”
- Ward250 Nuclear Safety Design Agreement, No. 100403, Rev 02 (status: Draft; issued for Public Release) (Valar Atomics, 2025-10) primary company
- The nuclear fuel cycle (Nuclear explained) (U.S. Energy Information Administration, 2023-10-26) “created when the uranium atoms were split apart”
- NEPA Determination DOE-ID-26-005: Valar Ward250 Research Reactor (categorical exclusion B5.26) (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Energy, 2026-04-22) primary government
- What are the Radiation Risks from CT? (U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2017-12-05) primary government “typically estimated to be in the range of 1 to 10 mSv”
The three Carbon County commissioners (Larry Jensen, Jared Haddock, Tony Martines) signed the 29 June 2026 support letter (mine-013) and spoke for the lease at both Trust Lands hearings. On 20 August Haddock said the county had worked with Valar 'since the beginning, when they were looking at other states', and praised its public education, 'not hiding anything'; Jensen stressed the lost coal tax base (no county coal for over four years, which holds, mine-039); Martines spoke of the county's energy history, infrastructure and workforce. On 17 September Jensen said the commission is 'committed to allowing these things to move forward' despite 'a few in our community who will push back', and that the 'silent majority' will support it 'as they're educated and learn how safe this process is'. Set beside the record: the commission's agendas from December 2023 to September 2026 name Valar once (a 19 Aug 2026 presentation), its minutes mention Valar only in that presentation and in remarks on 1 July and 2 September 2026, and none read names the Wellington site or the letter (csite-026); no safety document of any kind for a Carbon reactor or fuel plant was found in the public record as of late September 2026; and for the county conditional use permit Valar would need, state law requires approval if harms can be reasonably mitigated and does not itself require a hearing, the Trust Lands memo says Carbon's process includes one, and the conditional-use chapter of the county's 2023 Development Code does not require one (csite-015). The commissioners' long engagement with Valar is stated in their own remarks, in their 29 June 2026 letter ('working with Valor Atomics for over one year', mine-013) and by Valar; no county agenda or minutes recording it before the 19 Aug 2026 presentation were found (csite-026).
- 2026-08-20 TLA Board of Trustees Meeting Audio Transcript (auto-generated) (Utah Trust Lands Administration (Utah Public Notice Website), 2026-08-20) primary government “not hiding anything”
- 09.17.2026 TLA Board of Trustees Meeting Audio Transcript (auto-generated) (Utah Trust Lands Administration (Utah Public Notice Website), 2026-09-17) primary government “as they're educated and learn how safe this process is”
- 08.20.2026 FINAL TLA Minutes (Utah Trust Lands Administration (Utah Public Notice Website), 2026-09) primary government “long‑term collaboration with Valor Atomics from the early site‑selection phase”
- 09.17.2026 TLA Board Packet (Notification Item 10A: SULA 2095-OBA memorandum, Carbon County letter, lease map) (Utah Trust Lands Administration (Utah Public Notice Website), 2026-09-17) primary government “Carbon County has been working with Valor Atomics for over one year”
ETV News (14 Aug 2026) reported the Carbon & Emery Energy Collaborative held on 12 August 2026 at the Southeastern Regional Development Agency's offices in Price. Carbon County Commissioner Jared Haddock said the county had lost roughly $1 billion in taxable value over the past decade and that one large data center could provide a tax base comparable to about 4,200 homes. He also addressed concerns about nondisclosure agreements connected to economic development projects, saying (as ETV paraphrased him) that such agreements are typically required by the private companies considering an area rather than by the county, and that another company was looking at bringing industry to Carbon County, with details limited. At the same event Valar's Jess Housekeeper spoke of plans to eventually manufacture reactors and fuel. The report names no Valar site. Eight days later Haddock told the Trust Lands board the county had worked with Valar 'since the beginning' (ppl-020). One week after the summit, the commission's own minutes (19 Aug 2026) record it lifting a 'long-standing' NDA on a separate $600 million factory prospect that had been canceled (loc-036). No nondisclosure agreement between Carbon County and Valar appears in any record read; neither the report nor the minutes say one exists.
- Leaders look to coal, nuclear and new industry for growth at local energy summit (Kevin Butler) (ETV News, 2026-08-14) news “typically required by private companies considering an area”
- Aug 19, 2026 Commission Meeting Minutes (Carbon County Board of Commissioners; scanned) (Carbon County Commission, 2026-08-19) primary government “lifted a long-standing non-disclosure agreement (NDA)”
- 2026-08-20 TLA Board of Trustees Meeting Audio Transcript (auto-generated) (Utah Trust Lands Administration (Utah Public Notice Website), 2026-08-20) primary government “since the beginning, when they were looking at other states”
Valar's post dated 4 Aug 2026 (TechCrunch reported it on Monday 3 Aug) announces 'the closing of a $1 billion Series B financing led by Sequoia Capital', with Apandion, Atreides Management, Conviction, Dream Ventures, HOF Capital, Point72, Riot Ventures, Snowpoint Ventures and Valor Equity Partners, plus unnamed investors, and says Sequoia partner Shaun Maguire joins the board. Valar's law firm, Goodwin Procter, published a matching deal announcement naming the same investors. Sequoia's own portfolio page lists Valar as 'Partnered 2026', names partners Shaun Maguire and Liam Corrigan, and says Valar 'sells power rather than reactors'. TechCrunch says the company did not disclose a valuation and that Bloomberg reported $6 billion; The Next Web gives $6 billion and calls it three times the $2 billion of the spring (fund-006). Sacra's page quotes Bloomberg as saying the deal 'values Valar at $6 billion, including the money being invested', that is, a post-money figure. The Bloomberg and Axios reports behind the $6 billion were not reviewed. Before the close, TechCrunch (17 July) reported, from three sources, that part of the $1 billion had been raised earlier at a lower valuation; Valar's post does not break the round into tranches, but Sacra's share-class table does. The post says the money moves Valar from one demonstrated reactor to 'producing fleets of them en masse', with its own fuel production.
- Announcing our $1B Series B Led By Sequoia (Isaiah Taylor) (Valar Atomics, 2026-08-04) primary company “the closing of a $1 billion Series B financing led by Sequoia Capital”
- Goodwin Guides Valar Atomics on $1 Billion Series B and $200 Million Credit Facility (Goodwin Procter LLP (Valar's counsel), 2026-08-04) primary company
- Valar Atomics (portfolio page: Founded 2023, Partnered 2026; partners Shaun Maguire, Liam Corrigan) (Sequoia Capital) primary company “Valar Atomics is scaling nuclear fission reactors to make energy in the universe cheaper”
- Sequoia's Shaun Maguire leads $1B round for nuclear startup Valar Atomics (Julie Bort) (TechCrunch, 2026-08-03) news “did not disclose its valuation, Bloomberg reported that it was $6 billion”
- Sequoia leads $1 billion round for Valar Atomics as the nuclear startup triples its valuation to $6 billion (Ana-Maria Stanciuc) (The Next Web, 2026-08-03) news “three times the $2 billion valuation from its earlier round”
- Nuclear startup Valar Atomics in talks to raise new funding at $6B valuation (Marina Temkin) (TechCrunch, 2026-07-17) news “Part of that capital has been raised previously at a lower valuation”
- Valar Atomics valuation, funding & news (Valuation & Funding History table) (Sacra (research firm; partly paywalled)) analysis “values Valar at $6 billion, including the money being invested”
ETV News (3 July 2026) reported the Carbon County Commission meeting of Wednesday 1 July 2026 (ETV's text gives 'June 2' and 'June 1', but its publication date, the fire restrictions ahead of the Fourth of July and the NVIDIA announcement place it on 1 July; the commission's 1 July minutes record the same celebration (csite-026) and record Commissioner Haddock saying Valar had announced a data center partnership, one 'that will run without any water'). As ETV reported it, Commissioner Jared Haddock described Ward 250 as having recently become 'the first government-approved commercial reactor' to achieve a self-sustaining reaction outside a federal lab, and Commissioner Tony Martines said that because Valar's reactor is gas-cooled and NVIDIA's chips are air-cooled, the planned data center won't need water. Set beside the record: Valar's own February 2026 release says Ward 250 is a research reactor and 'not a commercial power plant'; DOE's pilot is for research and 'not' to demonstrate commercial suitability; DOE's 'first DOE authorized reactor built outside of a national laboratory' holds (orig-010). On water, Valar's account as ETV reported it was that the data center would use a closed-loop cooling system 'designed for low water consumption' and that it already had the water it needs, while seeking up to 1,000 more shares for other projects (ETV, 28 July). The part about being first outside a federal lab holds; 'commercial' goes beyond what Valar and DOE say. The commissioners' no-water description matches Valar's own 4 August 2026 release, which calls the planned data center 'a waterless 30 MW AI factory'.
- Carbon County Commissioners urge safety ahead of July 4th, reflect on freedom and democracy (Stephanie Olsen) (ETV News, 2026-07-03) news “the first government-approved commercial reactor”
- Valar Atomics welcomes community for reactor facility open house (Valar Atomics press release) (ETV News, 2026-02-24) primary company “it is not a commercial power plant”
- Emery County Commissioners Debate Solar, Data Centers and EMS Funding (Kevin Butler) (ETV News, 2026-07-28) news
- Department of Energy Celebrates Second Advanced Reactor Achieving Criticality (U.S. Department of Energy, 2026-06-18) primary government “the first DOE authorized reactor built outside of a national laboratory”
- Announcing our $1B Series B Led By Sequoia (Isaiah Taylor) (Valar Atomics, 2026-08-04) primary company “a collaboration on a waterless 30 MW AI factory”
- July 1, 2026 Commission Meeting Minutes (Carbon County Board of Commissioners; scanned) (Carbon County (Utah Public Notice Website), 2026-07-01) primary government “a 30-megawatt data center that will run without any water”
ANS Nuclear Newswire (13 Nov 2025) reported a $130 million Series A 'led by venture capital groups Snowpoint, Day One, and Dream', with Snowpoint co-founder Doug Philippone joining the board and total funding above $150 million. Tech Startups (10 Nov 2025) gives the same three leads, names Palmer Luckey (Anduril's founder) and Palantir CTO Shyam Sankar as backers, says Lockheed Martin director and former AT&T executive John Donovan joined the round, and says the raise pushed Valar's total funding to more than $150 million. Contrary Research (an investor, 11 Nov 2025) credits the lead to Philippone at Snowpoint and lists Luckey, Sankar, Dream, Day One and Contrary itself, with a 'Total Funding' figure of $150M. The sum of the earlier rounds ($1.5M + about $19M + $130M) matches the $150 million total. No valuation for this round appears in any source read; The Next Web later said only that the Series A valued Valar at 'a fraction' of its March 2026 price. No Series A article by Valar itself was found in its online library (read in late September 2026); its Series A items link to a LinkedIn post by Taylor (a TBPN clip), a paywalled Bloomberg story, an Axios Pro Rata item and an LA Times B2B story, none of which was reviewed.
- New financing round benefits Valar (American Nuclear Society, Nuclear Newswire, 2025-11-13) news “led by venture capital groups Snowpoint, Day One, and Dream”
- Valar Atomics, a nuclear startup backed by Palmer Luckey and Palantir CTO, raises $130M to build thousands of advanced reactors (Daniel Levi) (Tech Startups, 2025-11-10) news “pushes Valar's total funding to more than $150 million”
- Report: Valar Atomics Business Breakdown & Founding Story (Contrary Research (an investor in Valar), 2025-11-11) analysis
- A 27-year-old just raised $450 million to bet that AI's future runs on nuclear power (Cristian Dina) (The Next Web, 2026-04-01) news
Testing whether the public knew, against what the people involved have said on the record. Officials and Valar: Valar's Max Ukropina told the Trust Lands board that in 2024 he met the Office of Energy Development, the Governor's economic office, SERDA and Carbon County (mine-018); Commissioner Jared Haddock said the county worked with Valar 'since the beginning, when they were looking at other states' (ppl-020); the county's 29 June 2026 letter says the county had worked with Valar for over a year (mine-013); Carbon's October 2024 minutes note that Commissioner Martines phoned in while traveling home from a trip to Idaho National Laboratory connected with the San Rafael lab; no mention of Valar was found in those minutes (csite-026). The New Republic reports that before the May 2025 executive orders Valar staff were exploring land in southern Utah for a first 'gigasite', and the lab director says a contract followed about two weeks after Valar said it wanted to build at the lab; in July 2025 the state called its agreement a non-binding MOU. Public: the state's lease map is dated 9 April 2026 (mine-048); the 20 April 2026 state notice called it an unnamed industrial and power project (csite-032); the first public agenda naming Valar for the site is 10 August 2026 (csite-018); the first ETV News report of the lease that was found came on 18 September, the day after approval. Finding: by the officials' and Valar's own accounts, county, state-agency and regional officials were in contact with Valar about Carbon County from 2024, roughly two years before a public agenda named Valar for the site. The 2024 contacts, as Ukropina described them, concerned making fuels from coal-plant flue gas; when the Wellington parcel itself entered the talks is not settled by the records read (Ukropina's line in the auto-transcript, 'the first property I looked at was actually property', is garbled, mine-018; the state's lease map is dated 9 April 2026; the county's 29 June 2026 letter says it had worked with Valar for over a year). This is a gap in time before public notice, not proof of any intent, and the board's notices met the meeting law's timing (csite-016); no record of what was said in those 2024-2026 contacts was found in public records.
- 2026-08-20 TLA Board of Trustees Meeting Audio Transcript (auto-generated) (Utah Trust Lands Administration (Utah Public Notice Website), 2026-08-20) primary government “We've actually been working with Valor for since the beginning”
- Donald Trump Is Going Nuclear (Colin Jones) (The New Republic, 2026-05-26) news “Valar employees were exploring land in southern Utah”
- Donald Trump Is Going Nuclear (Colin Jones) (The New Republic, 2026-05-26) news “a signed contract was about two weeks”
- Who is Valar Atomics? (Eric Peterson) (The Utah Investigative Journalism Project, 2025-07-08) news “The state has not yet formalized any arrangement for Valar to access state facilities”
A Deseret News profile (Eva Terry, March 17, 2026) says Taylor founded Valar Atomics on the Fourth of July in 2023 and calls it an El Segundo-based startup; it names Jess Housekeeper as Valar's director of Utah operations and says the reactor's stackable concrete shielding blocks are made in Salt Lake City. This agrees with Contrary Research's July 2023 date and ANS's El Segundo headquarters; other records, including an unfinished June 2026 page on Valar's site and Valar's March 2026 trademark filing, give a Hawthorne, California address. The legal entity is confirmed elsewhere (a Delaware corporation), but no state record showing the formation date was found in the records read.
- At just 27 years old, this entrepreneur is remaking America's energy industry (Deseret News, 2026-03-17) news “Taylor founded Valar Atomics on the Fourth of July in 2023”
- Report: Valar Atomics Business Breakdown & Founding Story (Contrary Research, 2025-11-11) analysis